The stallion LC Desert Dancer : Winner 2018

Please use the form to the right to contact the Radautzer Award Chairperson or email:

Honoring Outstanding Achievement in AERC Rides

Natalia PFF & Barbara Ott - Photo by David Honan

Salome - Multi Year Winner of the Radautzer Award

The 2019 Radautzer Award Results

SA Alamo (Bayram x PA Artistry ox), a 2015 gelding, ridden and owned by Marlene Moss, is the 2019 Runner-up, completing a total of thirteen 25 – 50-mile rides, including numerous multi-day rides, and had 7 Top Ten finishes.  This is the 2nd year they’ve placed second.


The Recipient of the 2019 Radautzer Award:

The 2004 mare Natalia PFF (Almos x Nadeja ox), aka “Tyya”, owned and ridden by Barbara Ott, has won the 2019 Radautzer Award! 

Over the 2019 season, Tyya and Barb completed a total of six 50 to 100-mile rides, including the Western States Trail Ride (Tevis Cup), received 4 Top Ten finishes and 2 Best Conditions:

 2019 Season:

  1. Prineville Pioneer                                        05/03/2019        50 miles     19th place

  2. Klickitat Trek                                                05/25/2019        50 miles     7th place

  3. Creek to Capitol Peak Elevator                   06/22/2019        75 miles     4th place - Best Condition

  4. Bandit Springs                                             07/13/2019        50 miles     8th place

  5. Western States Trail Ride (Tevis Cup)        08/17/2019       100 miles     58th place

  6. Oregon 100/PNER Fundraiser                    09/14/2019        50 miles     2nd place - Best Condition


The 2019 Runner Up:

Year:    Horse:                       Owner:

2011    MJL Olivia               Monique Vincent          

2012    Salome                   Hannah Summers       

2013    Salome                   Hannah Summer         

2014    Chiron                    Chris LIttlefield
2015    Salome                   Hannah Summer          
2016    Salome                   Hannah Summers        
2017    Salome                   Hannah Summers       
2018    LC Desert Dancer   Julia Lynn 

Prior Year Radautzer Award Winners:


SA Alamo & Marlene Moss - Photo Credit Merri Melde

If you compete in AERC rides on a Shagya-Arabian bred horse and want to participate in this annual program, please contact the Radautzer Award Chairperson.

NASS' Radautzer Award 

In order to celebrate the outstanding achievements of horses with Shagya-Arabian blood, the North American Shagya-Arabian Society (NASS) has created the "Radautzer Award" for NASS-registered horses competing in AERC rides.

The first inaugural award was given in 2011, coinciding with NASS’ 25th Anniversary.

Named after the horses from the famous Austrian military stud farm of Radautz (located in present-day Romania) a horse with exceptional courage and stamina in Europe received the highest praise if described as “tough as a Radautzer”.

Recognition will be given annually to the horse who:

  • Achieves the highest number of points within that competition year according to the scoring system

  • Eligible horses must be registered with NASS

  • The owner of record must be a NASS member in good standing at the time the nomination form is submitted


Complete the Radautzer Award Form (below) and send in no later than December 31st of the award year.  

  • Award year is December 1st through November 30th.

  • You may send in all of the horse’s endurance information at one time (following their last ride) or in parts as the horse completes rides.  

  • NASS will confirm your horse’s endurance results with AERC’s official ride results.  If your submitted information is not consistent with AERC information we will contact you to resolve the inconsistency.   

  • NASS will also check with AERC to identify competing horses with Shagya-Arabian blood who could be eligible for this award, and use AERC results information.  

  • Since AERC records may not accurately identify all horses with Shagya-Arabian blood as "Shagyas", submitting this nomination to NASS will ensure your horse will be considered for the Radautzer Award.

  • Note: Make sure your NASS Membership is current and your horse(s) is/are registered with NASS.

Have Questions about the Radautzer Award Program?

Congratulations to all the NASS members & horses who competed in 2019 AERC rides!